Senior News,January 22 2023





After a horrible night the previous week, last Wednesday evening was a little cold but ideal for round 9, a dry cold night with no wind, so much so that the two fastest times recorded to date in the league were recorded Wednesday night for both male and female participants. We had a mass start last week because the hall wasn’t available to us, so the short course went off first and 3 minutes later the long course runners were got underway. It was a very notable night for the league as both the men’s and ladies best times to data in the current winter league were recordedMick Ahearne became the first runner to break the magic 30 minute barrier when he recorded brilliants 29:35 and likewise the fastest lady was Kate Veale who recorded a super time of 32.20 to not alone run the fastest female time in the current league but to our knowledge it was a course record into the bargain for this current winter league route. Outstanding performances by both. Just to also mention the run by  John Gleeson an up and coming young jockey from the Ardmore area, John uses the Wednesday night league as part of his strict training regime and he clipped around last night in a time of 30:47,remember the name.






The tables are starting to show a clearer picture now with 2 weeks remaining on the long course and the current leader is Linda Foley on 1410 but of course with two rounds remaining this is still a slender lead with Richie Fitzgerald lurking closely by on 1362 points in 3rd place is Jack Ahearne with 1345 and our next lady who is still in with a big shout in Tara Ni Reachtagain with 1331 points and in 5th we have Tom Hogan on 1297 and certainly not out of the hunt either.All in all very hard to call it yet best of luck to all. Just like division 1 the other 10 divisions are so close its impossible to call them with only a point or two separating our top 3 in most cases but all the divisions could take a big turn in affairs yet.


TOP 5.


Long course

Linda Foley 1410

Richie Fitzgerald 1362

Jack Ahearne 1345

Tara Ni Reachtagain 1331

Tom Hogan 1297


Division 2 Phil Dee 1235 Niamh O’Donovan 1188 Freida Mc Grath 1183

Division 3 Ceire Barry 1097 Vincent Tutty 1092 John Gleeson 1089

Division 4 Pat  Morrissey 1034 Gearoid Coffey 1013 Anne Moore 993

Division 5 Christopher Phelan 999 Jim Barry 996 Gerealdine  Barry (K) 992

Division 6 Gary Hurney 861 Aaron Whelan 847 James Coade 842

Division 7 John Coffey 854 Lisa Collins 803 Nicola Costin 795

Division 8 Conor Hennebry 810 Marcella Scanlan 777 Colm O’Hare 754

Division 9 Chris Wade 743 Johnny Burkin 722 David Leahy 714

Division 10 Kate Veale 705 Richie Walsh 659 Helen Keating 657

Division 11  Shane Healy 636 Kevin Forde 626 Grainne O’Brien 581






Conditions were absolutely ideal for runners on week 9 of the Fordes Daybreak winter league last Wednesday evening.The evening was cold but no wind and no rain which we experienced the previous week, There was a great number out again last Wednesday when 76 runners completed the course.Fastest male time recorded on the nigh was Daniel O’Keeffe  15.04 that’s great running by Daniel the fastest Lady last week in the mass start was Grainne Moore 17.07 a super time of for Grainne .Don’t forget to check you handicap off time here on face book for this week’s league.



The tables are now taking shape on the short course and the current leader is Phil Coffey 847 with Kelly Shalloe 817 and Paul Mc Grath third with 786. Fourth on 780 in Tómas Horgan and on the same points in 5th place is Owen Power 780.Below are the top 3 in each division and there’s only a whisper between them with anyone capable of taking divisional honours.Two rounds to go folks it all could change here yet, handicap run this week and Mass start on the final week. Best of luck to everyone.




1 647 Phil Coffey 847

2 692 Kelly Shalloe 817

3 711 Paul Mc Grath 786

4 731 Tomás Horgan 780

5 666 Owen Power 780


Division 2 Grainne Moore 676 Emma Dunne 670 Rachel Keating 660

Division 3 Ann O’Donovan 599 Evelyn Beresford 596 Michelle O Mahoney 587

Division 4 Tammy Hurney 540 Deirdre Whelan 518 Elizabeth Keating 517

Division 5 Mary Power 475 Ciara Costello 471 Judit Mc Nally 455

Division 6 Patrick Cumiskey 494 Fiona O’Rourke 484 Jennie Moore 471

Division 7 Rosie Moran 402 Iomhar Noone 376 Colette Barry 354

Division 8 Eoin Cunningham 349 Jack Nolan 289 Jackie Ryan 288

Division 9 Ruth Fennell 264 Tomas Murphy 219 Richie Fitzpatrick 214







The many months of planning is shortly to kick into action as D day approaches with the running of the 31st annual John Treacy Dungarvan 10 mile road race now imminent. The race day numbers and packs will be posted out in a few days to all entered. This means of course all you have to do on race day is to be at the start line for the new race start time of 11 AM with your number pinned to the FRONT of your club running singlet. When you have finished the race and cross the finish you will receive you’re goodie bag with lots of treats for you to enjoy after the race and you will also receive a high quality dri-fit Nike running top. This race is the biggest undertaking by the club each year and as a result we rely heavily on your support we need people to steward the course and many hands make light work ,if you haven’t already contacted Karen Ryan our steward coordinator you might consider doing so she can be contacted on 086 8245683. The club needs as many members and friends to help us make this a great race and a great day for West Waterford AC and for our town.






15th January 2023-Kiely Monumental Colligan Cup

5th February 2023-John Treacy 10 Mile

29th March 2023 to 26th April 2023-Colligan Hill League for 5 Wednesdays

10th April 2023-Aglish Fun Run

12th May 2023-AHS Tuning Ballinroad 5k

26th May 2023-Round Tower Hotel Ardmore 5 Mile

9th June 2023-Dungarvan Leader Dromana 5 Mile

30th June 2023-Oriel Bar Ballymac 5 Mile

7th July 2023-Deise College 10 k

21st July 2023-Ballinameala 5k

2nd September 2023-Eurofins Greenway Half Marathon

12th November 2023-Murrays Pharmacy Brickey 5k

26th November 2023-Turkey Trot



Congratulations to club member Joe Gough on winning his first gold medal in his new age category M 70 Held in Athlone indoor arena last Saturday Joe broke the Irish record in the 1.000 meters recording the fastest masters time in all age categories on the day the quadrathlon events were (60m.  Long Jump .Shot and 1.000m ).




Micheál Power West Waterford AC and college team mate Scott Beattie of The University of Tulsa track and field team set meet and facility records Friday during the 3,000-meter Hawkeye Pro run at the Larry Wieczorek Invite in Iowa.Beattie (7:50.10) and Power (7:50.12) finished the race within two-hundredths of a second of each other. Power, along with six other Golden Hurricane runners, finished the race with new personal-best times. He also ran the mile on Saturday and after said “Tired one today we went out conservative Shay took it on last 600 and Isaac won on the wire got going the last 100m for the win Shay 2nd 4.01 for both I just died a bit last 100 finished 4th in 4.02″another outstanding performance from Micheàl





West Waterford athletic club extend sincere sympathy to the family and friends of Liam Hickey, Shanballyanne, Ballymacarbry, Co Waterford, and Mary Dunford Bohadoon and Catherine Connors Cloncoskoran, Dungarvan, who passed to their eternal reward last week, may they rest in peace.


Upcoming Events