Senior News,January 21 2024






Last Wednesday evening was a little cold to say the least but the talk on the night after the run was that the weather really was ideal for round 8, a dry cold night with no wind. The proof of how good the night was in the times recorded and there was plenty of personal best recorded last week as those vying for divisional honours up their game. We had a mass start last week because the hall wasn’t available to us, so the short course went off first and 3 minutes later the long course runners were got underway. 173 ran the long course and the times being recorded are noticeably getting quicker as we approach the latter end of this year’s league with just 2 rounds remaining. The tables are starting to show a clearer picture now also with 2 weeks remaining on the long course and last week’s run shock up the tables considerably, the current leader is Cathal Dwane on a total of 1335 with Carol Gaffney still far from out of the picture on 1304 and a further 9 points adrift of her is Colm O’Connell with 1295 and in 4th is Joey Hynes on  1256 and next comes Shane Falvin on  1231,plenty of twists and turns before the winners  will be finalised. Just like division 1 the other 10 divisions are so close its impossible to call them with only a point or two separating our top 3 in most cases but all the divisions could take a big turn in affairs yet.


TOP 5.

Long Course



Cathal Dwane1335

Carol Gaffney 1204

Colm O’Connell 1295

Joey Hynes 1256

Shane Falvin 1231






Division 2 Brigid Coffey 1089 Cathal Gleeson 1080 Mark Dunford 1079

Division 3 Onra Power 1030 Emmet Prendergast 1028 John Joe Hayes 1015

Division 4 Helen Leahy 1032 Paul McGrath 1027 David Moore 1022

Division 5 Ruth Fennell 996 Michael Dunford 983 Michelle Finnegan 980

Division 6 Ray Hahesy 947 Anne Moore 942 Fiona Ormond 923

Division 7 Natalie Sheehan 919 Madeline Hearn 913 Jack Nolan 887

Division 8 John Woods 846 Deirdre Daly 796 Padraig Nolan 792

Division 9 Éanna Farrell 892 Eamonn Curran 808 Pat Morrissey 799

Division 10 Freida McGrath 746 Kelly McGrath 746 Martina Holmes 720

Division 11 Lorraine Dixon 715 Mark Shalloe 689 Jonathan Regan 693

Division 12 Sinead Ní Fhaolain 574 Patrick Power 519 Brendan Kent 489








Conditions were absolutely ideal for runners on week 8 of the Fordes Daybreak winter league last Wednesday evening. The evening was cold but no wind and no rain which saw another great turnout 104 of taking part which is a record number of runners for week 8 on the short course.The tables are now taking shape on the short course and the current leader is Grainne Moore with 720 points with Michelle Durand moving nicely into 2nd place on 706 points . In 3rd place and holding in well is  Valerie Flynn with 686 points and James Meagher is 4th on 675 points is far from out of the race for overall honours, and  Gerry Cummins with 668 will be hoping to make a podium placing. Below are the top 3 in each division and there’s only a whisper between them with anyone capable of taking divisional honours. Two rounds to go folks it all could change here yet, handicap run this week and Mass start on the final week. Best of luck to everyone. Don’t forget to check you handicap off time here on face book for this week’s league.




1 Grainne Moore 720

2 Michele Durand 706

3 Valerie Flynn 686

4 James Meagher 675

5 Gerry Cummins 668




Division 2  Eileen Campbell 608 Carmel O Donovan 598 Pat Frisby 593

Division 3 Raymond Darcy 562  Una Mulligan 543 Chloe Lake 539

Division 4  Thomas Hallahan 524 Tina Crotty 522 Ruth Flynn 508

Division 5 Julie Regan 465 Olivia Curran 465 Margaret Cleary 460

Division 6 Niamh Murphy 433 Ita Byrne 416 Tony Jr O Mahony 393

Division 7 Kerrie Uí Mhurchadha 418 Louise Mason 408 Emma Clery O Brien 406

Division 8  Niamh O Mahony 402 Kevin Joyce 396 Pauline Drohan 390

Division 9 Catriona Foley 368 Claire Cosgrave 354  Jennifer Kirwan 346

Division 10  Michelle Mullaney 301 Sinead Hehir 240 Rebecca  Hodnett 233

Division 11  Vincent O’Flynn 244 Caroline O’Donnell 230 Katharine Clarke 223





Our sincere thanks to Dungarvan Chamber of Commerce who have come on board to sponsor a spot prize( €25 each) at the Fordes Daybreak winter league. One voucher will be awarded for each of the distances, one for the short and one for the long each night for the remainder of the league. Dungarvan Chamber of Commerce do superb work in representing the businesses and retailers of our town. This week’s voucher winners were short course Niamh Murphy  and on the long course it was Richie Walsh were the lucky winners.







The many months of planning is shortly to kick into action as D day approaches with the running of the 32nd annual John Treacy Dungarvan 10 mile road race . The race day numbers and packs will be posted out in a few days to all entered. This means of course all you have to do on race day is to be at the start line well in advance of the  11 AM gun time with your number pinned to the FRONT of your club running singlet. When you have finished the race and cross the finish you will receive you’re goodie bag with lots of treats for you to enjoy after the race and you will also receive a high quality dri-fit Nike running top. This race is the biggest undertaking by the club each year and as a result we rely heavily on your support we need people to steward the course and many hands make light work ,if you haven’t already contacted Karen Ryan our steward coordinator you might consider doing so she can be contacted on 086 8245683. The club needs as many members and friends to help us make this a great race and a great day for West Waterford AC and for our town.





The national under 20 and 23 indoor championships were held last  Saturday in Athlone. With many very competitive events in both track and in the field there were some top class talent evident and large fields which is great to see. West Waterford AC had 3 athletes competing on the day with pride of place going to Lucy Holmes on this occasion taking silver in a very competitive Ladies under 23 1.500 meters. Lucy ran a very intelligent race staying in the top 3 or 4 positions throughout and covering any movement up front throughout the race, with two laps to go the battle for gold came down to Lucy and Eimear Maher DSD AC who drew away from the field, with the Dublin lady running a very hard 100 meters at the bell managed to open a 10 meter gap on Lucy but at the line it was down to just 1 meter with Lucy finishing very fast using her 800 meter speed, just coming up short for gold by 500’s of a second but she can be thrilled to have recorded new personal best time the indoor distance of 4.23.63.Sophie Jackman St.Senans AC took bronze in 4.34.19.

A great start to her indoor race this season after a great finish before Christmas to her cross country season where she took gold novice in Navan. With the seniors to come next month we hope that there will be more podium positions for the MTU student in 2024.Turning to out other athletes it was great to see two race walkers in the under 20 race sister’s Doireann and Eabha Hickey, these two girls are making great strides in the sport under the watchful eye of Jamie uncle and coach and Suzana Costin.The race winner was Savannah O’ Callaghan Tuam AC who was the only walker to break the 15 minute barrier clocking a time of 14.50.19 with Ciara Wilson Bowen DSD AC taking silver in 15.04.80 and Aoife Tuthill Bandon AC taking bronze 15.28.07.Racing out of their age categories  the two Hickey girls did well in the large field of Walkers taking part, Doireann finished 10th while Eabha took 13th place . Well done to all three great to see the club singlet at these championships.








Upcoming Events