Juvenile News January 16 2023


Eoin Tobin wins  McGrath’s Newsagents Juvenile Colligan Shield

It was great to be back in action again for the McGrath Newsagents Colligan Shield Juvenile race. Fifty five young athletes made the trip on Sunday last to take part in the race. This event is not about how fast you run but how accurate you are in predicting your time. There was great excitement among our younger athletes as they waited their turn to go and the seniors warming up for their race added to the atmosphere

First off were a group of young athletes who set themselves a target of 15mins. The clock counted down and each athlete went off at their predicted time. A big group went off around 11mins, at 10.30 and 10min marks and Noah Commins at 7.30 was the last off.  Seventeen athletes ran faster than their predicted time.  First across the line was Evan Commins who was 55secs faster than his predicted time. Others to run over half a minute faster than they predicted were Jude Lavan, James O’Brien, Alice O’Brien, Jamie Kiely, Conal O’Droma, Ruaraidh O’Uallachain. As the clock was ticking down the last 12 secs ten more athletes crossed the line.  Victor Mullins was watching the clock closely and as it struck zero two athletes were approaching the finish line but it was Eoin Tobin who  crossed the line to become winner of the race just 2 second out on his predicted time.   Eoin was just two seconds ahead of Oisin Whelan both of whom were running in their first Colligan Cup.  All six prize winners Eoin, Oisin, Niall Tobin ,Seb Byrne (last year’s winner) Tiernan Hogan and Noah Commins crossed the line one after the other less than 29 secs outside their time.

Fastest time on the day was by Noah Commins who covered the 2km in 7.58 Fia de Paor the fastest girl was the only other athlete to run under 9mins covering the distance in 8.45.   Oisin Whelan, Sean Cremin Tiernan Hogan and Jarlath Hurney all ran under 10mins.

Well done to all the young athletes who completed the course and a big thank you to Albert McGrath of McGraths Newsagent for his continued sponsorship of this event. Thanks also to all our stewards and officials who helped to run the event and to Victor Mullins whose came up with the idea for the event and who is on hand each year to pick the winner. Full results  listed below.


 PredictedPlus/Actual Time
Evan Commins13.00.-5512.05.
Jude Lavan15.00.-5314.07.
James O’Brien13.34.-4812.46.
Alice O’Brien12.02.-4411.18.
Jamie Kiely12.30.-4011.50.
Conal O’Droma13.00.-3812.22.
Ruaraidh O’hUallachain13.00.-3712.23.
Cillian Pope13.00.-1212.48.
Donnacha Kiely11.40.-1011.30.
Siun Cunningham11.00.-910.51.
Olan Devereaux10.50.-710.43.
Ben Collins14.00.-6.13.54.
Luke Nugent15.00.-614.54.
Colm O’Mhuiri10.34.-510.29.
Daire O’Droma11.00.-412.56.
Leon Devereaux11.00.-310.57.
Euan O’ hUallachain11.00.-312.57.
Eoin Tobin12.30.212.32.
Oisin Whelan9.05.49.09.
Niall Tobin12.00.1912.19.
Seb Byrne11.00.2011.20.
Tiernan Hogan9.30.289.58.
Noah Commins7.30.297.59.
Luisne de Paor10.30.3111.01.
Aine Horgan10.02.3410.34.
Maedhbh Kiely14.00.3714.37.
Sinead Donnolly12.30.3813.08.
Fergus Donnolly10.00.4010.40.
Fia de Paor8.00.458.45.
Leah Kiely11.30.5012.20.
Eile de Paor11.30.5012.20.
Kate Longan11.30.5012.20.
Ava Kiely10.00.5510.55.
Jarlath Hurney8.30.589.28.
Sarah Hallissey9.30.5910.29.
Sean Cremin8.
Allanah Pope11.00.1.0412.04.
Aoibh Ann Kiely11.35.1.1312.48.
Ciaran Horgan9.54.1.1511.09.
Cathal McKenna9.20.1.1710.37.
Shane Power10.40.1.2112.01.
Lauren Cliffe9.00.1.2110.21.
Sarah O’Riordan9.00.1.2110.21.
Saoirse Kinsella9.30.1.2410.54.
Dale Powert9.40.1.3611.16.
Clodagh Cunningham11.03.1.4312.46.
Alison Kirwan11.05.1.4612.51.
Emmie Power9.40.1.4811.28.
Ruth Walsh8.57.1.5710.54.
Lochlann Hurney9.00.2.0811.08.
Natalie Barry9.10.2.1111.21.
Orlaith Cremin9.25.2.2811.53.
Jess Collins13.00.4.0317.03.




Waterford Schools Cross Country on Thursday

All the local schools will take part in the Waterford Schools Cross Country Championships which will be held in St Augustine’s College on Thurs next Jan 19th with the first race off at 11.am. There will be races for minor, junior, inter and senior boys and girls



Upcoming Events