Senior News,May 28 2023









The 26th Annual Round Tower Hotel sponsored Ardmore 5 mile road race was held last Friday evening which was race number 2 of the clubs summer programme of road races.The weather was super for the race with little or no wind which was ideal for the nights racing. A big field of 172 ran and finished on the night which was the largest turnout in many years at this race.Our sincere thanks to our new sponsor Aidan Quirke of Ardmore Round tower Hotel in Ardmore who sponsored the race and he and his staff ensured that all the runners were well cared for with plenty of food and refreshments afterwards.Once again in Ardmore Michael Hennessey and his big team of stewards and helpers had everything working like clockwork on the night. Ardmore always sets a very high standard of race organisation each and every year and all at our club are very thankful to the Ardmore race organisers under Michael’s stewardship for their efforts.The GAA club in Ardmore have also been great supporters of this race over many years and have always put their facilities at our disposal for the race each year, we thank all at Ardmore GAA club for this.Our thanks to Tony, Mary,Sean,Eamon and Liam Ryan who came to the race and presented the first man home with the Veronica Ryan cup. Likewise our thanks to Matt Faherty who was present on the night to present the Noel Faherty memorial cup to the winning lady.Special thanks to our entire club crew for another flawless effort on the night, as usual they were as efficient as ever with the entries and the finishing times and results. Thanks also to Conor and Jamie for their help and work on the night and to Liam and Tom in the club van duty.

See you all in Dromana on Friday 9th June.














The 2023 winner of the 26th Annual Round Tower Hotel  Ardmore 5 last Friday evening was Sergui Ciobanu  Clonliffe  Harriers AC. Sergui was indeed claiming his 2nd title in a row at the Ardmore 5 , as he also took the crown 12 months earlier when he ran a time of 24.50, last Friday evening he was slightly slower but none the less equally convincing when he crossed the finish line in 25.07 to lift the coveted Veronica Ryan cup.Sergui went from the gun running a very fast first mile in well under 5 minutes and even at this early stage of the race was unlikely to be caught despite the great effort of the chasers behind.Waterford AC athlete Pat Fitzgerald who has burst onto the local running scene with some very fine performances was 2nd in a time of 26.02 and 3rd past the post was Dermot Gorman Carrick On Suir AC in 26.05.Dermot also finished 3rd in last year’s race when he ran a time of 26.35 on that occasion.The first over 40 was Mick Ahern  West Waterford AC  27.37 , First over 50 was John Murphy Grange Fermoy AC in 28.48 and the winner of the over 69 category was Seamus Mc Sweeney St Catherine’s AC 27.58 and our Junior  Man was West Waterford’s Gearoid Coffey 33.05, this was Gearoid’s 2nd year in succession winning the  junior prize and he can be pleased with his time improvement from 2002 when he ran a time of 34.00.Well done to all who came along to support the club and this race.


 Men’s Prize Winners


1 Sergio Ciobanu Clonliffe Harriers 25:07

2 Pat Fitzgerald Waterford A.C. 26:02

3 Dermot Gorman Carrick-on-Suir A.C. 26:05


Over 40         Mick Ahern          West Waterford AC          27.37


Over 50         Seamus Mc Sweeney St Catherine’s AC          27.58


Over 60         Gerry O’Connor  West  Waterford  AC            34.15


Junior            Gearoid Coffey West Waterford AC              33




The Ladies race last Friday evening was won by West Waterford’s Kate Veale in a time of 30.44.This was Kate’s 2nd win in succession in the clubs Summer programme of road races as she also recorded a victory two weeks previously at the Ballinroad  5k.Kate is enjoying her few road races but of course will be focusing on her race walking exploits with some important races in the pipeline. Sec pond last home last Friday evening was Mags Murphy Mallow AC just seven seconds behind our winner with a time of 30:51,Mags was at one stage leading the race in the earlier few miles and when Kate caught her they battled it out to the line with Kate holding on for the victory on this occasion. Third place was claimed by Louis Morgan Ferrybank AC  in a time of 31.47,Louis was also in this finishing position in 2022, so well done to her on her consistency. First Lady over 35 went to Linda Foley West Waterford AC in 34.47, Linda will also be delighted to have back to back over 35 victories year on year and her time improvement from 2022 when she clocked a time of 35.50.with the over 40 category going to Patricia Burke Ind in 36.59  and our winner over 50 was Jackie McGee  IND 38:46, A young lady starting to make a name for herself on the road running scene is Grainne Moore West Waterford A.C. who claimed her 2nd Junior Prize in the summer races with a time of 35:12well done to all our prize winners and to all who supported the race.


Women’s Prize Winners

1 Kate Veale West Waterford A.C. 00:30:44

2 Mags Murphy Mallow AC 00:30:51

3 Louise Morgan Ferrybank A.C. 00:31:47





Category Winner


Over 35 Linda Foley West Waterford A.C 34:47

Over 40 Patricia Burke  IND 36:59

Over  50 ,Jackie McGee  IND 38:46


Junior Grainne Moore West Waterford A.C.35:12











Now in its 29th year this very popular race will once again be held over  the same course along the fabulous Dromana Drive from Villerstown to Cappoquin as it has for the past 29 years, we are delighted that our long time sponsors of the race Dungarvan Leader newspaper will continue their sponsorship, our sincere thanks to Billy John and all at Dungarvan Leader for their on-going involvement with our club. The race takes place on Friday June 9th at 7.30 PM. The winning athlete receives the Michael C. Nagle Memorial Trophy and again our thanks to Colm and the Nagle family for their continued support of this race. Entries will be online please see Facebook page for entry link or click into race master for your online entry. This is a great course and a great race. Entry fee 10 Euro registration. Race entry on the night will be 15 euro. Race open to all over 16 years of age on race day.Prizes-1st 5 men and women and 1st two men’s and 1st two  ladies team of 3 outside ind prize winners plus. Please note for team prizes at Dromana 5 that only current 2023 paid up members will be eligible to score on west Waterford AC club teams.



Course record:


Pauline Lambe 29.20 (2010)


John Treacy 23.49 (1999)

Upcoming Events