Senior News, 20 March 2020






The Fordes Daybreak winter league recently drew to a close after 12 nights of running from early November through to the end of March. This league continues to go from strength to strength and is probably the most successful league of its type in the country. For the 2019/ 2020 league, the average number of runners per night was 76 on the short route and this number has being growing each year (up from 61 in 2017). This league is mostly aimed at newcomers to running who are able to take on the 2.4 mile route. We hope anyone that has run the league will take on some of our other races and leagues throughout the summer. Another feature of the league this year was the lovely long sleeve t-shirt for anyone that ran 8 out the 12 nights. Once again this year, the league was sponsored by Kevin Forde of Fordes Daybreak on the Youghal Road. It is great to have such a good sponsor to help support our league. We must also thank all our stewards out on the course who stood out in all weathers over the winter to keep everyone safe. Thanks must also go to our crew in the hall and at the finish line each night who keep the league running so efficiently. Our prize presentation night took place in Minnies, who as always looked after us well. League sponsor Kevin Forde was on hand to present the prizes. After the 12 nights the overall winner was Kim Daly on 1152 pts. This is a great achievement by Kim who has been leading the league for the past few weeks. Kim ran 28.24 on week 1 and improved to 18.29 by the end of the league, a massive improvement of nearly 10 minutes over the 12 nights. Runner up was Caroline O’Brien on 1129. Caroline also massively improved her time from 29.09 in week 1 to 21.45. In third on 1102 pts was Ita Mason who also really improved her time to go from 26.13 on the first night to 20.33. Rounding out the top 5 were Linda Foley on 1100 pts and Liam O’Donnell 1072 pts.


The full list of prize winner was:


Winner Kim Daly  1152

2nd Caroline O’Brien  1129

3rd Ita Mason  1102

4th Linda Foley  1100

5th Liam O’Donnell  10


Division 2

1st Karen Hallahan  1042

2nd Orla Browne       1021

3rd Stephen Lonergan 992


Division 3

1st Kealan Hayes 985

2nd Edna Roche  955


Division 4

1st Elaine Curran  934

2nd Carley Kearns 918


Division 5

1st Pascal Proctor 872

2nd Rosemary Curran 854


Division 6

1st Marie Aherne  887

2nd Lauren Walsh Kett  776


Division 7

1st Mary Power  832

2nd Joey Miller  730


Fastest Man – Raivis Zakis  12.31

Fastest Lady – Cait Verling 18.09







There were 9 runners that completed all 12 nights of the league which is a great achievement. Prizes were also presented to the runners that ran the fastest times during the league over the short course and here the fastest Man was Raivis Zakis   (12.31) and for the ladies it was Cait Verling (18.09) There was a draw held among these runners who completed all 12 rounds of the league and our winner was Natasha Dee.





A huge thank you to all our stewards over the duration of the league who came along each and every Wednesday night to look after our well-being out on the roads of the town.To Karen Ryan our thanks, she was the person responsible for and making sure every corner and crossing was covered by a steward each week. Thanks once again this year to David and Judith McNally of the Ormond Café and Townhouse Dungarvan who donated three vouchers to be raffled among all our winter league stewards and this year’s winners were Sue Genc, Padraig Dé Burca and Vince Donovan.





The successful 26th annual Forde’s Daybreak winter league came to an end recently and once again from the outset it has to be said it was one of our most successful in recent years. As all of us involved know it’s a big commitment each and every Wednesday evening covering a total of 12 weeks in all kinds of weather, to be out helping the club in this way for the enjoyment of others, but of course without these people there would be no league as the 30 or so helpers and stewards take up their position at the same time each Wednesday evening making sure that us runners are safe while running the league. A special thanks this year a last must go once again to Karen Ryan who coordinated all the stewards for the duration of the league, Karen did this most important job diligently each week making sure if someone was unable to come that there was another person organised to fill this slot, well done Karen on a great job. We must also of course sincerely thank our sponsor Kevin and Forde of Forde’s Daybreak on the Youghal Road, a better sponsor there isn’t, many thanks Kevin. To another most important crew, those on registrations a big thanks for all your help. Shirley Flynn, Ann Dunford , Catriona Kiely, Sharon Duggan, Ray Burke, Jim Fleming, Ray Burke and Gerry Cantwell who for many hours were on computer duty working out times and handicaps and league tables, starting times etc. Thanks to our chairman Tom Leahy for his work this year with the league also. Our thanks go to Ann Dunford for her on-going work with posting results on the club web site each week. To Jamie Mills and John McGrath who looked after the cones each night and as always did a fine job and to the lads at the Sports Centre who were there every night and provided much needed help and support. To Tom for all his help with the weekly notes.  For now pencil in Wednesday 4th November for round 1 of the 27th year of the league, see you then.




“Your body will argue that there is no justifiable reason to continue. Your only recourse is to call on your spirit, which fortunately functions independently of logic.”