Senior News, 15 March 2020





The clubs highly successful 26th annual year of our winter league came to an end for yet another season recently and the presentation of prizes took place at Minnies Bar Abbeyside.It was a real mixed bag weather wise this year with two rounds missed before Christmas and we were greeted with plenty of wet windy nights after Christmas also.However the numbers taking part this year were really great and most saw it out right up until the final night. The prize-winners were presented with their prizes by league sponsor Kevin Forde of Fordes Daybreak at the presentation night and we hope it was enjoyed by all. . Our thanks to Pat and all the staff at Minnies for looking after us so well again this year.Our thanks to Kevin for his generous sponsorship of the league and to his wife Orla who both were available at the league presentation of prizes in Minnie’s. Also once again we would like to thank the many stewards and helpers that make these leagues possible. This league was set up all those years ago to cater for all levels of runners and this has been the ethos right through, this year’s league saw 2828 finishers over the 12 weeks which is an in creditable number of runners coming along each Wednesday to the sports centre for the league. The long course had an average of 170 over the running of the league and the short course 76.The overall winner of the short route for 2019/20 was Kim Daly while the long route trophy was presented to Christopher Phelan. Thanks to everyone for such a great turn out on the night, we hope everyone enjoyed the celebrations after 12 weeks of hard running.  Once again well done to all the prize-winners and thank you all for your attendance at the presentation night and until next year keep up the hard work. To celebrate the 26th year of the league this year all runners who ran 8 nights of the league were rewarded with a long sleeve running top. We will look in this week’s notes on the long course and in next week’s notes we can see how the short course went.








If anyone would like to know how the handicap system works for our winter league ,this year is a prime example of it, Christopher Phelan our long course winner is a sure example of what can be achieved, by his own admission a non-runner up to lately came along to give the winter league a try, loved it and progress so well through the winter months that he actually won the league outright starting from slow begging’s he worked hard at his running and by the time the league ended his improvement over the few months was staggering. Christopher a member of the well know family business Phelan Fuel and Hardware Shandon, Dungarvan was a most popular winner this year, as if you like he did it the hard way, from scratch to lifting the famed winter league cup. With 2058 points Christopher was chased all the way by our runner up John Twomey 2011 points, John came from down the field as they say with a fast final couple of nights but just came up short on this occasion, but a gallant 2nd place for him all the same. Our third placed runner was Mike Wyley on 1092  indeed Mike and Noel Quinn shared that 3rd spot as even on cutback they still locked together so we decided to share 3rd place between the two. Geraldine Lacey kept the flag flying high for the ladies this year and was in contention right throughout the league,she finished an excellent 5th with 1044 points.So all in all it was another great league and the full list of our top 10 as well as our other divisional winners are listed below.



The top 10 were:


1 Christopher Phelan 2058

2 John Twomey 2011

3 Mike Wyley 1092

3 Noel Quinn 1092

5 Geraldine Lacey 1044

6 Niall Collins 1803

7 Niamh Bambrick 1774

8 Rosín Feeney 1765

9 Mark Lenihan 1733

10 Liam Fitzgerald 1724




Division 2. Liam Costin 1767

Division 3. Angeline Drennan 1662

Division 4.Claire Moffat 1584

Division 5. Leanne Kirwan 1549

Division 6. Eoin Walsh 1388

Division 7. Jack Ahearne 1490

Division 8. Mairead Flynn 1434

Division 9. Geraldine Barry 1376

Division 10. Patrycja Daly 1180








It is a great achievement to get yourself out not for a few league nights over the winter but for them all, this year we had a huge number in fact one of the largest number ever when 33 runners on the long course completed all 12 nights of the league, a special well done to all of you. The winner of the prize raffled among those 33 who completed each and every night was won by Elaine Carroll.







 In this league we give a prize to the fastest man and women on both routes outside of prize-winners who participate for the mandatory 8 nights and appear on the league tables. On this occasion on the long course Mike Ahearne took the title of fastest man on the long route with a superb time of 30.47. Turning to the ladies long course, our fastest lady was Grainne Enright with a time of 37.42.












The Mason Financial Services Colligan Hill league is now postponed until a later date.








 The 8th annual Aglish fun run due to take place on Easter Monday April 13th 2020 is now cancelled.





“Running is a road to self-awareness and reliance-you can push yourself to extremes and learn the harsh reality of your physical and mental limitations or coast quietly down a solitary path watching the earth spin beneath your feet.”