Juvenile News 12 June 2022


Silver and Bronze for West Waterford Athletes at Irish LifeHealth Irish Schools Championships and Gold for Jarlath at Munster Championships


It was all systems go for a long day of athletics at the Irish LifeHealth schools Championships in Tullamore. It was three years since the last schools track and field championships were held so for most of the athletes competing it was their first taste of national championships. All those competing in Tullamore had to qualify first through their zones and then through their provincial championships so only the cream of the crop made it through.  All the local schools had athletes competing from West Waterford, Finisk Valley and Blackwater.


First of the West Waterford athletes in action on the track was Doireann Hickey representing Meanscoil san Nioclas. In a very fast and competitive walk Doireann finished in 3rd place to claim the bronze medal. Doireann’s time of 10.42.80 was an improvement on her Munster winning time. Meanwhile in the field events Saoirse Quinn was in action in the hammer. Saoirse improved on her throw from the Munster championships throwing 36.00m and finished in 4th place. Later in the afternoon she had a very good throw in the discus and her distance of 29m64 was enough for 2nd place and she collected her first All Ireland medal.  Saoirse has now been selected on the Munster Schools team for the upcoming Tailteann Schools Inter Provincial Championships. Jonathan Tutty has only started putting the shot in the last few weeks and did well to qualify for the All Ireland where he threw close to 9mts. David Conroy Fahey made a huge improvement in the last few weeks improving by five mts from his throw in Munster. He flung the discus 30m29 for a new personal best and 5th place in the competition.


 PB for Ellie Mai Doherty at Munster Championships


We had only one girl in action at the first day of the Munster Club Championships under 9-13. Ellie Mai Doherty represented herself and her club with distinction giving her all on the day. Her first event was the 500m where 49 athletes were spread across 3 heats. The event was run on times with the athletes ranked after the three heats. The races were run at a fast and furious pace. Ellie Mai was in heat two. She got out well and settled into second place behind the eventual winner from Ennis track. Ellie Mai put in a great final 100m to try and catch her and crossed the line second in 1.41.57. When all the heats were finished Ellie was in 4th place just .3 of a second off a medal. Such was the standard in the race that just over a second separated the top 6 athletes. Next up was the long jump where we had 59 competitors so it took a long time to get through the event.  The top 26 in the event all jumped over 3mts and the top five were over 3mts 30. Ellie Mai finished 5th with a jump of 3m36.


First Munster Title for Jarlath Hurney in 60m Sprint


It was another cool and blustery day in Templemore on Sunday for the second day of the Munster Championships. Clodagh Lattimore was first in action in the under 12 long jump where she finished midway in the field with a jump of 3m30. Clodagh later went in the 600m but she found the pace very fast on the day. Next up was Jarlath Hurney in the 500m. A field of 51 athletes was divided over 4 heats with the result being run on times. Jarlath was in the third heat and got out well at the start and was up with the leaders on the back straight. He went into the lead with 200m to go and looked certain to win but over the final 60m  he was caught by Andrew Bermingham of Dooneen but Jarlath fought back and it went right to the line with Jarlath crossing first to win his heat. His time of 1.34.33 was enough to win him the bronze medal. Lochlainn Hurney was also in action on Sunday where he competed in the shot and 60m. He made it through to the last eight in the shot and finished in 6th place and he also placed sixth in a fast heat in the 60m under 12. The last event of the day on the track was the boys under 10 60m. This event was again run on times and there were nine heats. Jarlath was in the last heat. We all kept a close eye on the clock as the heats progressed but the last heat won by Jarlath was the fastest of all. He crossed the line in 9.31which was .7 of a second faster than second and third who were both given a time of 9.38. Well done Jarlath on winning your first Munster title. We hope it will be the first of many.



 Club Championships Finish on Wed Night


Over the last few weeks seventy four athletes have competed in the club championships in running, jumping and throwing events. The final events take place on Wed next with Long Jump for the under 10’s Javelin for the under 12 and 13’s and Shot for the under and over 14 groups.  The following week Wed 22nd we will have the presentation of prizes for the championships.






Presentation of Munster Cross Country Medals


Because of the Covid restrictions we were unable to present our Munster and All Ireland  Cross Country  team medals during the winter so we will meet in the Tennis Club on Friday next June 17th  after training for the presentation of the medals.

Refreshement will be served and we hope the parents of our athletes will attend.


All Ireland B Medals

Ami Flavin, Claudio O’Halloran, Lauren Cliffe

Anna Rochford, Nicole Cullinane, Clodagh Lattimore


All Ireland A Day 2

David Gaffney, Cal Tutty


Boys under 15 and 16 Munster Medals

David Gaffney, Cal Tutty, Naoise MacMhurchadha, Ben Qualter, Conor Keane


Girls under 14, 15 and16 Munster Medals

Grainne Moore, Sarah Gaffney, Fia de Paor, Aoife O’Donovan, Sarah O’Riordan

Lauren Cliffe, Claudio O’Halloran, Eabha Hickey, Kyla Flavin, Ami Flavin.


If you cannot attend in person to collect your medal please make sure there is someone there to collect it for you.



Munster Championships under 14-19


The  track and field championships under 14 to 19 will be held in MTU Cork on Sat 18th and Sunday 19th of June. Thirteen athletes from West Waterford have expressed an interest in competing and will be entered for the event

Rory Donnolly, Noah Commins, Jonathon Tutty, Fia de Paor, Sarah O’Riordan, Clodagh Cunningham, Callum Tutty, David Conroy Fahey, Naoise MacMhurchadha, Eabha Hickey, Saoirse Quinn, Doireann Hickey and Paul Mullarkey.