Juvenile News 03 December 2019

 West  Waterford Athletic Club Juvenile Notes


 Season Ends with Presentation of Prizes for Tony’s Winter League Sponsored by Elverys Inter Sports


The cross country season for our younger athletes came to a close on Wednesday last with the final run and presentation of prizes for Tony’s Winter League which was sponsored again this year by Elverys Inter Sports. Once again the league was a huge success with 95 athletes taking part over the six weeks. Each Friday before training a large group would gather around the notice board to check out their times and assess their teams ranking.  The standard of the league was very high this year with Lucy Holmes breaking the course record and Sarah Nyhan jumping into the top ten;

The countdown run started with each runner going off at their best time. First across the line was Aoife Lattimore followed closely by Sarah Gaffney. Almost a quarter of the runners were home before the clock hit zero meaning they ran faster than their best time in the league. The presentation took place after the run and our thanks to St Augustine’s College for the use of their grounds and hall for the league.   A large number of parents were present as Mary Ashe made the announcements.


The first presentation was to the individual prize-winners.


Fastest Boy: Tommy Fennell

Fastest Girl: Sarah Nyhan

Fastest Boy under 12: Eoin Prendergast

Fastest Girl under 12: Sarah Gaffney

Fastest Boy under 10 Long lap: Natanas Lunskis

Fastest Girl under 10 Long lap: Isabelle Gaffney

Fastest Boy on Short lap: Charlie Curran

Fastest Girl on Short lap: Aoife Buenaventura

Most Consistent: Ian Holmes

Most Improved since last year:  Cillian Towey

Best PB run during the heavy rain : Darragh O’Regan

Top finishers on final run Aoife Lattimore and Sarah Gaffney

New Course Record: Lucy Holmes


The highlight of the league is always the team competition and there is always a keen contest for the honours.  This year Lucy Holmes team took the lead on the first night and held it all the way through. Mark Blackwells team made a strong surge in the last two weeks to jump into second and David Gaffneys team finished 3rd.  Blaine Hayes representing our sponsors Elverys Inter Sport was on hand to present the prizes to the winning teams assisted by members of the committee.


The prizes were presented in reverse order. First up was David Gaffneys team in 3rd place. The team consisted of David Gaffney, Anthony O’Donnell, Aoife O’Donovan, Aodhan O’Rahallaigh, Callum Curran, Emma Curran and Iryna Martinez. Next up was Mark Blackwell’s team in 2nd Mark Blackwell, Ben Qualter, Fia de Paor, Kate Killigrew, Cormac O’Regan, Ellen Power, Katie Hamblen and finally what everyone was waiting for the announcement of the winning team which this year was captained by Lucy Holmes. The team consisted  of  Lucy , Liam Broderick, Mary Kate Prendergast, Catherine O’Donnell, Ami Flavin, Euan O’hUallachain, Leah Wall, Ciara Flavin.  In the absence of Eunice Power Tony Shalloe presented the Powersfield Cup to the winning captain Lucy Holmes.

Well done to all who took part in the League and to Lola and Tony for keeping track of all the times.


All Ireland Day 2 Sunday December 15th Dunlavin


The following West Waterford athletes have qualified for the All Ireland Championships in Dunlavin. We will be travelling by car to this event and anyone who wants to stay overnight in City West contact Mary Ashe.


Under 11 Girls

Kyla Flavin,  Isabelle Gaffney


Under 11 Boys

Eoin Prendergast


Under 13 Girls

Sarah Gaffney


Under 13 Boys

David Gaffney,


Under 17 Girls

Sarah Nyhan


Under 17 Boys

Mark Blackwell,   Oisin O’Riordan     Robert Quinn,


Under 19 Girls

Lucy Holmes ,  Mary Kate Prendergast


Under 19 Boys

Cian O’Riordan,  Conor Mullany,



T raining will continue on Wed and Fri for those who have qualified for the All Ireland. Mary Ashe’s group will train at 4pm in the Friary and Tony’s Shalloe’s group will train at 6pm.


Three Awards for Aislinn O’Regan


The IWA held their annual awards in the Springhill Hotel Kilkenny on Saturday last. West Waterfrord’s Aislinn O’Regan was the recipient of three awards. Aislinn finished 2nd overall in the discus in the Grand Prix Series. The series was won by Mary Fitzgerald who recently finished 5th in the Para World Championships. Aislinn received a merit award for her tenacity and determination to compete despite her recent health setbacks and finally she was presented with a special certificate for breaking the indoor Irish shot record in the F43 category.


Win for Oisin O’Riordan at Munster B Championships


The final race in the Munster Cross Country season was held in Two Mile Borris on Sunday last. There were good numbers competing especially in the younger ages. West Waterford had just seven athletes in action. Oisin O’Riordan who missed much of the cross country season was back in form again and had a good win in the boys under 17 race.  In the under 9 girls race Aimee Barry finished a very good 28th  Natalie Barry not far behind in 31st. In the boys race Peter Ahearne ran strongly to finish 40th. In the under 11 girls Maria Currran finished 78th with Rhiona Towey in 101st while in the boys race Cillian Towey finished 59th.  Well done to all who travelled to represent the club at this event.