Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Juvenile News 19 March 2020

March 19 @ 8:00 am - 5:00 pm


Training Suspended for the Rest of the Month


In view of the current health climate in Ireland West Waterford Juvenile Committee decided to suspend all group training while the schools are closed. Athletic Ireland have since advised all clubs to suspend all group activities and have postponed the All Ireland Indoor Championships which were due to be held on the 28th and 29th of March. Ferrybank AC have also postponed  their Open Sports which were due to be held on April 5th.


West Waterford and the Irish Schools Cross Country


As I was researching the winners of the girls results for last week’s notes I came across a lot of athletes with West Waterford connections so here are some of them.

In 1970 John Treacy reprenting St Anne’s Cappoquin finished 4th  in the junior boys and Liz Mountain (RIP) Mecy Dungarvan was second in the senior girls. The following year 1971 John Treacy came back and won the junior boys and Tony Ryan was 4th in the inter Boys.


In 1972 Tony Ryan Dungarvan CBS won the intermediate boys with John Treacy in second place. Ray Treacy St Nioclas was 3rd in the senior boys .

In the senior girls Mary McKernan (now Mary Ashe ) was 3rd in the senior girls and Liz Treacy was 6th .


John Treacy went on to win the Intermediate boys in both 73 and 74


In 1991 Kieran Maher Dungarvan VS was 4th in the senior boys with Mark Radley Dungarvan CBS 7th in the junior boys.


We had to wait until 2000 for the next winner when William Harty St John’s won the inter boys.


David McCarthy St Augustine’s was the most prolific winner taking four titles junior 2003, inter in 2004 and 2005 and senior 2006.


In 2004 Shona Curran Ard Scoil na nDeise finished 5th in the junior girls and the following year Niamh Kennedy also Ard Scoil na nDeise finished 5th in the intermediate girls,

Kate Veale St Augustine’s finished 5th in the junior girls in 2008 and 4th in the inter Girls in 2010.


St Augustines won the inter boys team title in 2004 and 2005 and the senior boys title in 2006. David Mc Carthy, Ferdia O hAodha, Diarmuid O’Fhoghlú Padraig Healy and Mark Shalloe being the scoring members of the team.


St Augustine’s also hosted the championships six times in 84,88,92,96,2000 and 2005.


I don’t have the full results for every year so I’m sure I missed out a few people along the way. If you know of anyone I missed please let me know so I can add them in and have a full list of those who finished in the top six.




March 19
8:00 am - 5:00 pm