West Waterford Athletic ClubWest Waterford Athletic Club

Juvenile Notes, January 28th 2008

Success for Aaron Whelan in Colligan Cup
The annual Colligan Cup was held in ideal conditions on Sunday last.  There was plenty of interest in the juvenile event with sixty-five athletes completing the course.  There were some very interesting debates about times before the race began, as everyone wanted to get it just right.  The clock started at the slowest predicted time of 15mins.  A group of nine set off at this time and all of them came back  well ahead of this time some coming home more than two minutes early.  The clock continued to wind down with each athlete going off at his or her predicted time until the last athlete Brian Hallissey went off at 7m40.  It was then a matter of waiting for the first athlete home. First across the line was Anne Jacques 2.08 ahead of her time. In all thirty-two athletes ran faster that they expected.  When the clock struck zero the next home was the winner Aaron Whelan who was just three seconds slower than he predicted, second was Tadhg O’Maoilin (plus 7) third Brian Hallissey (plus 8) fourth Adam Dunford (plus 8) and fifth Elma Nugent (plus 13).
It was a very competitive race with some very fast times being recorded..  Joe Conway ran the fastest time finishing in 7.41; just eight seconds too fast, while Kate Veale was the fasted girl home in 8.28.  The day however was not about the fastest time but about getting the right time.  David Early (minus 2), and Jim Morrissey (minus 1) also came very close to getting it right.  There is always next year for those who got the maths wrong this time.

Name, Time
Joe Conway, 7.41,
Brian Hallissey, 7.48,  3rd
David Earley, 8.18
Lughaidh O’Mahony, 8.24
Declan Power, 8.28
Kate Veale, 8.28
Gavin Whelan, 8.35
John N Fennell, 8.35
Darragh O’Riordan, 8.38
Elma Nugent, 8.53,  5th 
Joe Shine, 9.20
Sean Ryan, 9.33
Michael Maher, 9.40
Ross Dunford, 9.41
Dylan McGuire, 9.54
Aaron Whelan, 10.03, Winner
Conor Shovelin, 10.09
Richard Casey, 10.21
Tony O’Mahoney, 10.42
Edel Roche, 10.45
Caroline Farrelly, 10.45
Claire Collins, 10.48
Gemma Wyley, 10.50
Sarah Wyley, 10.52
James Shine, 10.56
Lucy Power, 11.06
Sophie Van der Velt, 11.07
Niamh Tebay , 11.09
Adam Dunford, 11.18,  4th
Richard Young, 11.22
Jason Dunford, 11.23
Ian Curran, 11.35,
Aisling French, 11.26
Michael French, 11.26
William Quinn, 11.27
Tiernan Foley, 11.42
Kevin Crossan, 11.45
Padraigh O’Lionnain, 11.47
Donnacha Roche, 11.48,
William Leary, 11,55,
Philip Cashin, 11.57,
Bronagh Condon, 11.58,
Shane O’Riordan, 12.02,
Tadhg O’ Maoilin, 12.07,  2nd
Aine Power , 12.06
Rachael French, 12.09
Lioda O’Lionnain, 12.14
Jim Morrissey, 12.19
Aoife Hamilton, 12.25
Conor Quarry, 12.27
Aoife French, 12.32
Carrie Foley, 12.32
Emma Hallahan, 12.33
Anna Jacques, 12.52
Jack Power, 12.54
Sam Murphy Nix, 12.56
Jane Mullane, 12.59
Shannon Dunford, 13.02
Julie Power, 13.05
Jack O’Lionnain, 13.22
Sorcha Leary, 13.33
Kate Mullane, 13.36
Kayleigh O’Riordan, 13.39
Lelia Quarry, 14.09,
Hannah Murphy Nix, 14.37 

Upcoming Events