West Waterford Athletic Club West Waterford Athletic Club

Juvenile Notes, January 29th 2007

Colligan Cup Hotly Contested
The Colligan Cup took place last Sunday.  Over sixty young athletes took to the line to see who could run closest to their predicted time. The first athletes started at fifteen minutes and as the clock ticked down each person went off at their chosen time the last being Daniel Mc Carthy at 8.07.  First home was Kevin Crossan more than two minutes faster than predicted.  Before the clock struck zero thirty-four athletes had crossed the line running faster than they expected and including Daniel Mc Carthy who ran the fastest time of the day coming home in 7.30.  When the clock reached zero the winner crossed the line. It was Rachel Ffrench who completed the course in exactly her predicted time of 13.00m hot on her heels was her sister Aisling just one second outside her time. Gavin Whelan Cherene Foley and Jim Curran who were all within four seconds of their time took the runners up places.  The fastest girls time was recorded by Kate Veale  in just over 10 mins.  Cousins Richard Casey and Shane O’Riordan were the fastest of the younger athletes both breaking eleven minutes. Below is a list of all finishing times starting with the fastest;

Daniel Mc Carthy 7.30
Alan Akehurst 8.07
Brian Hallissey 8.09
Tom Curran 8.20
Darragh O’Riordan 8.28
Jim Curran 9.04
Gavin Whelan 9.12
Craig O’Connor 9.19
Diarmuid Henley 9.23
Fergal Kelly 9.27
David Early  9.30
Maurice Connors 9.31
Adam Keane 9.45
Kate Veale  10.13
Ian Curran 10.22
Shona Curran 10.29
Emer Scanlan 10.34
Ross Dunford 10.34
Stephen Coffey 10.38
Aaron Whelan 10.39
Aisling Hennebry 10.40
Dearbhaile Hayes 10.45
Maria Delahunty 10.46
Niamh Flynn 10.46
Dillon Mc Guire 10.51
Richard Casey 10.53
Michael Tutty 10.54
Clodagh Gallagher 10.55
Shane O’Riordan 10.56
Sinead Hogan 11.03
Aisling Flynn 11.05
Bernadete Power 11.08
Katie Hayes 11.10
Cherene Foley 11.17
Kevin Crossan 11.20
Adam Dunford 11.38
Aoife Ffrench 11.48
Sam Murphy Nix 11.48
Gemma Wyley 11.57
Aoife Hamilton 11.59
Niamh Bergin 12.01
Sarah Wyley 12.04
Kate Kennedy 12.07
Sarah Walsh 12.11
Fergal Roche 12.22
Rebecca Feeley 12.26
Katie Hamilton 12.43
Meg Ryan 12.48
Donnacha Roche 12.59
Ciara Scanlan 13.00
Rachael Ffrench 13.00
Aisling Ffrench 13.01
Emer Wade 13.20
Louise O’Neill 13.46
Jason Dunford 13.51
Richael Boland 13.58
Deirdre Brackett 14.19
Sheila Coffey 14.21
Shannon Dunford 14.37
Rachael Walsh 15.00
William Barron 15.42
Rachael Donnolly 16.19
Emma O’Connell 16.28

Local Schools to the fore in Schools Cross Country Championships
The schools championships were held in ideal conditions on Thursday last. The Ursuline dominated the girls events and only the Ard Scoil senior girls team prevented them from making a clean sweep.  In the boys events St Augustines took three team titles and retained the overall trophy.

Local Results;
Minor Girls Teams  2nd St Augustines, 3rd Ardscoil

Minor Boys 3rd David Early St. Augustines Teams 2nd St Augustines, 3rd C.B.S. Dungarvan

Junior Girls Teams 2nd Ardscoil, 3rd St. Declans

Junior Boys 3rd Ritchie Fitzgerald St. Augustines Teams 2nd St. Augustines

Inter Girls 2nd Lorraine Mc Carthy St. Augustines Teams 2nd St Augustines
3rd (tie) St. Declans & Ardscoil

Inter Boys 2nd Daniel Mc Carthy, 3rd Niall Brown, Teams 1st St Augustines
2nd C.B.S. Dungarvan

Senior Girls 1st Ciara Flynn St. Augustines, 3rd Shona Curran Ardscoil
Teams  1st Ardscoil  3rd St Augustines

Senior Boys 1st David Mc Carthy St. Augustines, 2nd Ferdia o’hAodha St. Augustines Teams 1st St. Augustines