Juvenile News

Juvenile News, 24 September 2019

J.B.White Schools Cross Country a Huge Success 
 There was a large number of  participants in West Waterford’s annual schools cross country with a new record of over 350 youngsters taking part in twelve cross country races held in the Friary last Friday. A total of twenty eight primary schools also a record and four secondary schools competed this year.  Numbers were evenly divided between the boys’ and girls’ races and the biggest field was in the 3rd class boy’s race where fifty youngsters completed the course. It was a beautiful balmy autumn evening and conditions were ideal for cross country running.
 As always competition was keen for the individual and team honours and the athletes were cheered on by a large gathering of parents and school friends. Individual honours were well distributed with athletes from twenty primary and all four secondary schools among the trophy winners.  Team honours were more widely spread this year. Scoil Garbháin led the way in the team events winning eight team prizes three gold, three silver and two bronze ahead of Scoil Mhuire Abbeyside with 4, two gold and two silver team prizes. Well done to all the youngsters who competed last Friday night  Our thanks to our sponsor J.B. White Chartered Accountants, to St Augustine’s for the use of the Friary and to our club members and parents who helped out to ensure the smooth running of the event. Full results below
West Waterford Schools Cross Country
2nd Class Girls    TEAMS
1 Leah Fennell Coolnasmear N.S.
2 Muireann McGrath Kill N.S. 1 Sc Mhuire Abbeyside 33pts
3 Lilly Windross Touraneena N.S. 2 Whitechurch N.S. 40pts
4 Amy Barry Sc Mhuire Abbeyside 3 Scoil Garbhain 42pts
5 Kate Hennessy Grange N.S.
6 Anna Cullinane Whitechurch N.S.
2nd Class Boys
1 Callum Curran Sc. N. na Rinne 1 Sc Mhuire Abbeyside 28pts
2 Conor McCarthy Carriglea N.S. 2 Scoil Garbhain 31pts
3 Andrew Walsh Stradbally N.S. 3 Sc. N. na Rinne 44pts
4 Luke Fitzgerald Scoil Garbhain
5 Patrick Veale Seafield N.S.
6 Rian Casey Stradbally N.S.
3rd Class Girls
1 Lily Mai Queally Coolnasmear N.S. 1 Scoil Garbhain 28pts
2 Liadin McGrath Kill N.S. 2 Scoil Garbhain 44pts
3 Lucy Raicevic Whitechurch N.S. 3 Glenbeg N.S. 64pts
4 Aoife Buenaventura Garranbane N.S.
5 Ava O'Keffe Clashmore N.S.
6 Shannon Radley Scoil Garbhain
3rd Class Boys
1 Anthony O'Donnell Glenbeg N.S. 1 Sc. N. na Rinne 15pts
2 Cian Qualter Sc. N. na Rinne 2 Sc Mhuire Abbeyside 26pts
3 Natta Lunskis Sc Mhuire Abbeyside 3 Coolnasmear N.S. 53pts
4 Charlie Curran Carriglea N.S.
5 Charlie Kelly Whitechurch N.S.
6 Rian Curran Sc. N. na Rinne
4th Class Girls
1 Isabel Gaffney Glenbeg N.S. 1 Coolnasmear N.S. 22pts
2 Kayla Flavin Garranbane N.S. 2 Kilrossanty N.S. 26pts
3 Leah Queally Coolnasmear N.S. 3 Scoil Garbhain 49pts
4 Gráinne Drohan Kilrossanty N.S.
5 Alanna Kirwan Coolnasmear N.S.
6 Sarah Hallissey Sc Mhuire Abbeyside
4th Class Boys
1 Eoin Prendergast Carriglea N.S. 1 Scoil Garbhain 13pts
2 Rian Cliffe Scoil Garbhain 2 Glenbeg N.S 29pts
3 Tom Windross Touraneena N.S 3 Carriglea N.S. 33pts
4 Micheal O'Grady Scoil Garbhain
5 Aaron Dillon Glenbeg N.S
6 Cayden Scanlon Whitechurch N.S.
 5th class girls 
1 Niamh McGrath Kill  NS 1 Scoil Garbhain 12pts
2 Fia Power Scoil Garbhain 2 Scoil Garbhain 37pts
3 Aoife Lattimore Scoil Garbhain 3 Sc. N. na Rinne 43pts
4 Molly Byrne Coolnasmear N.S.
5 Laoise Cummins Glenbeg N.S
6 Brook Dunford Modeligo N.S
5th Class Boys
1 Senan Devine Coolnasmear N.S. 1 Scoil Garbhain 14pts
2 Eddie Raicevic Whitechurch N.S 2 Sc Mhuire Abbeyside 22pts
3 Conor Keane Scoil Garbhain
4 Owen Morrissey Sc Mhuire Abbeyside
5 Sean Óg O'Regan Scoil Garbhain
6 John Fitzgerald Scoil Garbhain
6th Class Girls
1 Sarah Gaffney Glenbeg N.S. 1 Glenbeg N.S. 18pts
2 Rebecca Walsh Newtown N.S. 2 Sc Mhuire Abbeyside 28pts
3 Aoife O'Donovan Abbeyside N.S. 3 Cappoquin N.S 35pts
4 Eve O'Connell Cappoquin N.S
5 Katie Fennell St. James N.S
6 Catherine O'Donnell Glenbeg N.S.
6th Class Boys
1 Sean O'Dillúin Scoil Garbhain 1 Carriglea N.S. 28pts
2 Ben Qualter Sc. N. na Rinne 2 Bothar na Naomh 40pts
3 Liam Broderick Carriglea N.S.
4 Charlie Nicholson Cappoquin NS
5 Noel Fleming Scoil Garbhain
6 Cillian Towey Sc. N. na Rinne
1st & 2nd   Year Girls
1 Caoimhe Prendergast Ard Scoil na nDéise                        1 St Augustine's 9pts
2 Lia Harty St Augustine's 2 St Augustine's 18pts
3 Angelina Chizhikova St Augustine's                                    Ard Scoil na nDéise 19pts
4 Caragh Queally St Augustine's
5 Claudia O'Halloran St Augustine's
6 Aoife Reddy St Augustine's
1st & 2nd   Year Boys
1 David Gaffney Dungarvan C.B.S. 1 Dungarvan C.B.S. 7pts
2 Ian Holmes Dungarvan C.B.S.
3 Colm Barry St. Declans
4 Tom Feerick Dungarvan C.B.S.
County Championships Sunday  Sept 29th@11am>
The first session of the county Championships will be held in St Augustine’s College Abbeyside on Sunday next with the first race underway at 11am.
This will be the even age championships with races for under 8,10,12,14,16,18, Junior and Seniors. Athletes can move up an age group so the under 9s will compete under 10 and the under 11s under 12 all the way up the ages. The following Sunday the championships will be for uneven ages. All Those who are training on Wed and Friday nights should turn up at 10.15 on Sunday so they can register and warm up before the races start. West Waterford will look to field teams in every age so it’s up to all our athletes to turn up on time on Sunday.
Wins for Isabelle and Sarah Gaffney in Kilmacow
It was real cross country weather in Kilmacow on Sunday last for the St Senans Open Cross Country. Just two athletes from West Waterford competed in the pouring rain and both came away with wins. Isabelle Gaffney was a clear winner in the girls under 10 and her sister Sarah had to fight all the way to the line snatching victory in the last few stride. Well done to both girls