Juvenile News

Juvenile News, 19th December 2016

Season Ends with Presentation of Prizes for Tony’s Winter League Sponsored by Ger Wyley Sports

The cross country season for our younger athletes came to a close with the presentation of prizes for Tony’s League which was sponsored again this year by Ger Wyley Sports. Once again the league was a huge success with 115 athletes taking part over the six weeks. Each Friday before training a large group would gather around the notice board to check out their times and assess their teams ranking. A large number of parents were present as Tony made the announcements. The highlight of the league is always the team competition and there is always a keen contest for the honours. This year the team result went down to the wire and was only decided on the last night, Ger Wyley was on hand to present the prizes to the winning teams. First up was Cian O’Riordan’steam to collect the first team prize, followed by Cormac Mahony’s team in second and Kate Hickey’steam in third place. Then it was the turn of the individual prize-winners.

Fastest Boy: Conor Mullaney
Fastest Girl: Lucy Holmes
Fastest Boy under 12: Cal Tutty
Fastest Girl under 12: Ally Cunningham
Fastest Boy under 10 Long lap: Paddy McCarthy
Fastest Boy on Short lap: Sam Blake
Fastest Girl on Short lap: Aoife O’Donovan
Most Consistent: Oisin O’Riordan
Most Improved since last year: Eoghan Lattimore
Top finishers on final run big lap Mark McCarthy and Crea Frisby

There were some great individual performance during the course of the league Cian O’Riordan went under 6mins on three occasions his best time was 5.51 on week two which puts him into second place in the top ten times just ten seconds behind Mark Shalloe’srecord. Lucy Holmes best time 6.41 puts her into third overall on the girl’s times behind Aoife Hamilton and Kate Veale. Kate Hickey was the only other girl to break 7 mins to finish just outside the overall best times table. Caoimhe Dwyer (7.02), Dairine NíSheanlaoich (7.04) and Aine O’Neill came very close to breaking the seven minute mark.

Top Ten Times Since League Started in 2002

Mark Shalloe 5.41 2007
Cian O’Riordan 5.51 2016
David McCarthy 5.52 2002
Rory Moloney 5.54 2007
Micheal Power 5.59 2013
Liam Reilly 6.00 2014
Niall Blackwell 6.04 2015
Ferdia O’hAoda 6.05 2003
Sean Stilwell 6.05 2005
Shane O’Riordan 6.07 2013


Aoife Hamilton 6.25 2013
Kate Veale 6.38 2011
Lucy Holmes 6.41 2016
Hannah Power 6.42 2013
Shona Curran 6.48 2003
Dairine Ní Sheanlaoich 6.49 2013
Sinead Flynn 6.53 2013
Lucy Holmes 6.53 2015
Lorraine McCarthy 6.55 2004
Caoimhe Dwyer 6.58 2013

Our thanks to our sponsor Ger Wyley, to Tony and Lola for collating all the information and keeping track of the teams and to Bro Patrick and St Augustine’s for the use of the hall and their grounds. Santa’s elves were on hand as usual to distribute chocolate santas to all who competed.

We wish all our athletes, coaches, parents, supporters and those who helped out with our various events during the year a happy and peaceful Christmas.

Tony and Harry will be back in action after Christmas as we have a group of athletes training for the Waterford Schools Cross Country on Thurs Jan 19th and Celtic International in Cardiff on January 22th.