Juvenile News

Juvenile News, 19-November 2018

All Ireland Cross Country Championships Nov 26th
All roads lead to the national Sports Campus Adamstown for the All Ireland Cross Country Championships under 12,14,16,18 Junior and Senior. West Waterford has a large group of athletes qualified for this event as they represent club, county and province.  The bus will leave the Park Hotel on Sunday @ 7am sharp and with a short stop on the way we should arrive on the course about 10am. The first event of the day the under 12 girls race will get underway @11.30am.  Last year the start was delayed because of a long traffic backlog at the Blanchardstown  exit so make sure you leave yourself plenty of time if you are travelling by car. We wish the best of luck to all our athletes competing on the day. Please let Mary Ashe know at training on Wednesday if you are travelling on the bus.
Qualifiers for All Ireland in Abbottstown on Sunday 
Under 12 Girls County Team
Sarah Gaffney, Aoife O’Donovan, Claudia O’Halloran
Under 12 Boys Club,County Team and Munster Team
 David Gaffney (Munster) , David Nyhan (Munster),Liam Broderick, Ben Qualter, 
Paddy Mc Carthy, Conor Keane.
Under 16 Boys Club, County Team and Munster Team
 Oisin O’Riordan (Munster), Tommy Fennell (Munster), Eoin Buenaventura, 
Robert Quinn, Mark Blackwell, Rory Fennell.
Under 18 Girls County Team
Lucy Holmes (Munster), Mary Kate Prendergast
Under 18 Boys  Munster and County Team
Cian o’Riordan (Munster Team)
International Selection for Aislinn O’Regan
We have just heard that Aislinn O’Regan has been selected to represent Ireland at the IWAS World Games which will be held in Sharjah U.E.A. from the 10th -16th of February 2019. Aislinn will compete in both the shot and discus at this event. This will be a great opportunity for Aislinn and show the improvement she has made over the last two years.
On Saturday Aislinn was in Kilkenny to receive two awards at the IWAS awards dinner. Aislinn received a merit award for her performances in the IWAS World Junior games last year where she had personal best performances in both the shot and discus and also an award for finishing third in the senior discus.   
Elvery’s Intersport Juvenile Winter League
Last Wednesday was day 4 of the Elverys Intersport Winter League ( Tony's league),and the second night of the team competition. Despite conditions being a lot softer underfoot last Wednesday, there were still some very good times recorded. A large group of athletes gathered around the board to check out the team standings.  The first three teams on the leader board remain unchanged. 
David Nyhan's team is still in the lead on 418 points, followed by Lucy Holmes' team on 445 points and then Tommy Fennell's team on 483 points.
 72 athletes took part on Wednesday which was the largest number in this year’s league.
Sarah Gaffney and Isabelle Gaffney both had their fastest times to date as did Grainne Moore, Ele Mc Dermott, Aoife O Donovan, Paddy Mc Carthy, Sophie Crotty, Claudia O Halloran, Catherine O Donnell and Sarah O Riordan. Well done to these ten athletes. Keep up the great running!
Below are the times recorded for all athletes on Wednesday 14th November.
Cian O Riordan 5.43
Tommy Fennell 6.20
Lucy Holmes 6.31
Nessa Reilly 6.38
Conor Mullaney 6.46
Eoin Beneventura 6.52
David Gaffney 6.53
David Nyhan 6.56
Rory Fennell 6.58
Cal Tutty 7.02
Ian Holmes 7.05
Kyle Moloney 7.08
Robert Quinn 7.13
Sarah Nyhan 7.21
Eoghan Lattimore 7.24
Tadhg O Sullivan 7.28
Liam Broderick 7.34
Caoimhe Prendergast 7.36
Darragh O Regan 7.37
Sarah Gaffney 7.39
Angelina Chizhikova 7.40
Eoin Prendergast 7.41
Ben Qualter 7.41
Mary Kate Prendergast 7.44
Ally Cunningham 7.47
Mark Blackwell 7.49
Aoibh Murphy 7.52
Elia Tutty 7.56
Isabel Gaffney 7.57
Gráinne Moore 8.00
Anthony O Donnell 8.03
Lia Cunningham 8.10
Mark O Donovan 8.12
Emer O Neill 8.18
Ele Mc Dermott 8.18
Cormac Deevy 8.21
Aoife O Donovan 8.22
Owen Morrissey 8.26
Aidan O Donovan 8.29
Paddy Mc Carthy 8.29
Sophie Crotty 8.32
Mattie Kupczyk 8.40
Claudia O Halloran 8.41
Eva Nogueira 8.46
Aodan O Rahallaigh 8.46
Caolan O Corraoin 8.51
George Ruso 8.52
Cillian Towey 8.54
Cathy Shanley 8.57
Sean Hogan 9.01
Catherine O Donnell 9.07
Fiona O Riordan 9.09
Cian Qualter 9.23
Rian Curran 9.23
Sarah O Riordan 9.26
Ami Flavin 9.28
Aoife Lattimore 9.39
Judit Nogueira 9.44
Crea Frisby 10.00
Short Lap
Cormac O Regan 4.10
Maria Curran 4.15
Aoife Bueneventura 4.24
Riona Towey 4.28
Amy Beresford 4.30
Oisin Mc Govern 4.35
Tessa O Connor 4.36
Shauna Deevy 4.37
Laura Beresford 4.43
Amy O Riordan 5.24
Kate Bluett 5.33
Leah Wall 5.46
Lucia Byrne 6.15
The juvenile committee would like to extent their sympathies to the Earley, Rossiter and Flynn families on their recent bereavements,