About Us

West Waterford Athletic Club 2005

January 2005

Munster Masters Indoors
Gold:    Diane Behan (Over 35 3km)                 Joe Gough (Over 50 800 metres)

Munster Senior/Junior Indoors
Senior: Liam Houlihan              Pole Vault  3.80, High Jump 1.80
Junior: Mark Bannon               Pole Vault 3.40

National Masters Indoors
Gold:    Diane Behan     (Over 35) 3k    National Record 10 minutes 50 seconds
Brendan Moran  (Over 45) 60 metres National Record 7.8 seconds
Joe Gough        (Over 50) 200,400 and 800 metres

Munster Senior Cross-Country Kilmurray, Co. Clare
Team (Silver) Diane Behan (9th),Corinna Walsh(10th), Ann Dunford(20th) and Norma Wall (25th) 

February – 2005

National Indoor Pole Vault Titles
Senior:  Liam Houlihan (4 metres), Junior: Mark Bannon (3.20 metres)
Junior   Siobhàin Brackett (2.40 metres)
National Senior 1500 Metres Indoor Title
David McCarthy (3.56)
Scottish Indoor Championships in Glasgow
Gold:    Richie Power (over 45) 800 metres
Silver:   Joe Gough        (Over 50) 800 metres

British Indoors AAA
Silver:   Diane Behan (Over 35) 3k and Joe Gough (Over 50) 800 metres

2005 Annual Launched
The Annual was sponsored by Blackwater Homes and edited by Dermot Dwyer

National Cross Country Medals
Grade C  (Senior Ladies) Gold medallists
Ann Whelan, Norma Wall, Joanne Jackman and Ann Dunford

March – 2005

Munster Masters Road Championships in Waterford
Gold:    Diane Behan (Over 35) and Terri Gough (Over 60)
Team Gold (Over 35)               Diane Behan, Ann Dunford and Mairead Flynn
Team Gold (Over 50 Men)       Joe Gough, Con Kelleher and Martin Sandford

European Silver in Sweden
Joe Gough (over 50) 800 metres 2.07.87

April – 2005

Munster Road Championships in Castleisland
Gold:    Diane Behan (Senior and Novice)
Gold Senior Team        Diane Behan (1st), Corinna Walsh (3rd), Joanne Jackman(8th)
and Ann Dunford (16th)
Men’s Silver Novice:    Mark Langford, Jason Travers, Trevor Mason and Dermot Hickey
Munster Junior Champion:        Deirdre Duff (3k)

South African Champion
Masters 100 metres and 200 metres:     Brendan Moran

June – 2005

Munster Masters Track And Field in Castleisland

Terri Gough (Over 60) Hammer, Shot and 200 metres
Joe Gough (Over 50) 200, 400,800 and Long Jump
Sandra Brazil-White (Over 35) 200 metres
James Veale (Over 40)  Javelin
Richie Power (Over 45) 400 metres
Relay (4x100 metres)   Sandra Brazil-White, Ann Dunford, Eilìs Nì hAodha and Martina Ryan

Munster Special Olympics in Cork
Gold:    Kieran Coleman 1500 metres (5.58) 3000 metres (12.54)

Munster Senior Track And Field in Cork
Shane Scanlon:             Hammer
Liam Houlihan:              Pole Vault

July - 2005

National Junior And Under 23 Track And Field
Gold:    Mark Bannon (Junior) Pole Vault 3.70m
Silver:   Liam Houlihan (Under 23) Pole Vault (4.00m) and High Jump (1.70m)
Susie Lonergan (Junior) Pole Vault

European Youth Olympics in Italy
Silver:   David McCarthy 800 metres (1.58.26)

National Track And Field Leagues in Cork
Gold:    Shane Scanlon (Hammer)
National Senior Track And Field in Dublin
Silver:   Shane Scanlon (Hammer) 52.34
Bronze: Liam Houlihan (Pole Vault) (3.80)

August 2005
National Masters Track And Field in Tullamore

Joe Gough (Over 50) 400 and 800 metres
Terri Gough (Over 60) 200 metres and Hammer
Diane Behan (Over 35) 1500 metres
4x400 metres Relay:     Mairèad Flynn, Ann Dunford, Diane Behan and Eilìs Nì hAodha

National Track And Field Leagues
Shane Scanlon Hammer and Discus (1st)
Mark Bannon   Pole Vault (1st)
Club qualifies for League Finals

Northern Ireland Masters Track And Field in Belfast
Gold:    Joe Gough (Over 50) 400 and 800 metres

National Track And Field League Finals
Individual Winners:       Shane Scanlon (Hammer and Discus)
Mark Bannon (Pole Vault)

The Club finished 8th overall.

September – 2005

2005 National Half Marathon in Carlow

Silver:   Diane Behan (Over 35)
Bronze: Con Kelleher (Over 50) and John Foley (Over 55)
Senior Ladies:   Joanne Jackman, Triona Wall and Judy Hanrahan

58 West Waterford Athletes participated.

World Masters In Spain
Joe Gough (6th)            800 metres

Munster Half Marathon Championship in Cork
Silver:   Terri Gough (Over 60)
Bronze: Con Kelleher (Over 50)

October – 2005

Munster Novice Cross-Country in Clare Ladies Five in a Row Titles
Eilìs Nì hAodha (4th), Joanne Jackman(9th), Norma Wall (10th) and Anne Whelan (14th)

Winning Teams over the 5 years
Ø                  2001:   Ann-Marie Jordan, Alice Fitzgerald, Triona Shalloe and Joanne Jackman
Ø                  2002:   Diane Behan, Joanne Jackman, Corinna Walsh and Emer Conroy
Ø                  2003:   Corinna Walsh, Diane Behan, Eilìs Nì hAodha and Joanne Jackman
Ø                  2004:   Diane Behan, Ann Dunford, Norma Wall and Joanne Jackman
Ø                  2005:   Eilìs Nì hAodha, Joanne Jackman, Norma Wall and Anne Whelan

National Marathon Winners In Dublin
Gold:    Masters Ladies. Diane Behan, Mairead Flynn and Joanne Dunford
Silver:   Senior Men.     Raivis Zakis, Mark Langford and Trevor Mason
Individual Silver:           Diane Behan (Over 35) and Terri Gough (Over 60)
Individual Bronze:         Ann Moroney (Over 45)

55 members of West Waterford Athletic Club participated in the Marathon.

November – 2005

Munster Intermediate Cross-Country in Piltown
Silver medal winners: Eilìs Nì hAodha, Joanne Jackman, Ann Dunford and Norma Wall.

Running League Handbook Launched
Funded by the National Sports Council and Waterford Sports Partnership, our Running League Handbook on the Guidelines and tips for the development of Running Leagues was launched at the Dublin Marathon. This particular booklet is available from the club.

December – 2005

Munster Masters Cross-Country
Silver medal winners: (Over 35) Diane Behan, Eilìs Nì hAodha, Ann Dunford and Mairead Flynn; (Over 45) Helene Hayes, Jacinta Sheil and Kathleen Deegan

Bronze Medal Winners: Diane Behan (Over 35)
Con Kelleher, Joe Gough, George Tutty and Michael Deegan (Men Over 50)

12th Annual General Meeting
President: Paddy-Joe Curran
Chairman:  James Veale
Vice-Chairman: Martin Veale
Secretary: Tony Ryan
Ass. Secretary: Norma Wall
Treasurer: Denise Regan
P.R.O. James Veale
Road Racing Co-Coordinator:  Gerry Cantwell
Track and Field (Masters): Joe Gough
Cross-Country: Tony Ryan
Committee Members: Ann Dunford, Dermot Dwyer, Michael Tutty, Johnny O’Connor and Trevor Mason

Club Athlete Of The Year
Judy Hanrahan was awarded the West Waterford Athletic Club Athlete of the Year with a final score of 88 points.

Master Athletes Of The Year
Men:    Martin Hayes
Women: Diane Behan